CO Detectors Are
Installed Your CO Detectors Yet?
Please remember that under Wisconsin’s Carbon Monoxide Detector Law, ALL one- and two-family buildings (including owner-occupied buildings) are required to have CO detectors. Three-family and larger buildings in Wisconsin that have attached garages or “fuel burning devices”—gas heat, oil heat, gas dryers, gas stoves etc.—also have a similar law now in effect. CO detectors must be within 75 feet of all fuel burning device and within 15 feet of each bedroom. One is required in the basement if there is a “fuel burning device” in operation, and they are also required in common hallways spaced no more than 75 feet apart. Battery and plug in units are acceptable and should be mounted on a ceiling or wall. The Department of Neighborhood Services will be completing annual inspections of Carbon Monoxide Alarms during safety inspections.
If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Department of Neighborhood Services located at 841 N. Broadway, Rm 104, Milwaukee, WI, 53202 or call (414) 286-3441.