Bookmark and Share

Awards & Contests

Common Council members sponsor award programs and contests to spur civic engagement and show appreciation for those who contribute much toward a better Milwaukee.  The following are the current award programs and contests put forth by the Common Council:

Cream of the Cream City Awards

Sponsored by the Historic Preservation Commission, the Common Council, and the Mayor, this award program recognizes individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions in the field of historic preservation and heritage education and advocacy in Milwaukee.

Logo for Dr. James G. White 6th District Difference MAkers Awards

Dr. James G. White 6th District Difference Makers Awards

The Dr. James G. White 6th District Difference Makers Awards are intended for individuals or groups that work diligently to improve and strengthen the quality of life for themselves, their neighborhood, and the City of Milwaukee. 

Frank P. Zeidler Award

Frank P. Zeidler (1912-2006) spent his life as a public servant. Although he was best known as Milwaukee's mayor from 1948 to 1960, Zeidler served even longer in his unpaid capacities: as a civic activist, local historian, churchman, Socialist Party leader and conscience of the community. He was a tireless advocate for social justice and equal opportunity and a champion of mutual respect and cooperation as the keys to both world peace and civic unity. This honor is awarded annually, recognizing city residents who best exemplify Zeidler's legacy of social justice and civic accomplishment.

Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Award

Velvalea Hortense Rodgers Phillips (1923-2018) was a Milwaukee native who became a leader in not only the African-American community but was a trailblazer and role model for all Milwaukeeans, for Wisconsin, and the nation. The Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Award is bestowed annually recognizing female city residents who best exemplify Vel R. Phillips’ legacy of selfless service and trailblazing work to improve the quality of life for residents in Milwaukee.

Freedom Scholarship Essay Contest

This initiative was started by Alderwoman Milele Coggs to assist college bound, recent high school grads in the Milwaukee area to better understand where their paths lead. Two $500 scholarships are currently given out for the winning submissions. The contest is held each year during the summer months.


Common Council Logo  

Contact Us

City Hall
200 E. Wells Street
Room 205
Milwaukee, WI 53202  

(414) 286-2221

Potrait of the City of Milwaukee Common Council

City of Milwaukee
Common Council

Get Connected

Follow the city's Common Council On Twitter Follow the city's Common Council On Facebook City's Common Council Photo Gallery City of Milwaukee Channel Subcrive to the city's Common Council E Notify Connect With various city departments by Social Media

Quick Links

Please wait while we gather your results.