• Refine Search

  • All Results

DPW Divisions

The Department of Public Works is comprised of four divisions. Each division has a variety of responsibilities, ranging from special event permits to bike lanes to garbage collection to providing clean drinking water.

Administrative Services

As the liaison between the public and elected officials, the Administrative Services Division diligently coordinates: transportation, environmental and economic development projects; budgets and contract management; media relations, special event permits and the DPW Call Center, ; and parking/parking-related activities; and much more. Visit the Administrative Services section to learn more.

Infrastructure Services

As the largest of the all DPW divisions, Infrastructure Services Division is responsible for the design, construction, operation and maintenance of all streets, alleys, bridges, public way lighting, traffic control signs and signals, sewers, and underground conduit systems; and overseeing the construction of water facilities. Visit the Infrastructure Services section to learn more.


The Operations Division provides Fleet, Forestry, Sanitation, and Parking Services. Responsible for solid waste collection and disposal, recycling and waste reduction, trees and landscaping, fleet maintenance and dispatch, support services to City facilities, parking enforcement, and snow and ice control; Operations is dedicated year-round to keeping Milwaukee clean, manicured and safe. Visit the Operations section to learn more.

Water Works

Excellence in water quality, customer service, and infrastructure maintenance; and operational efficiency and consistent financial performance are the hallmarks of the Milwaukee Water Works, provider of high quality drinking water for Milwaukee and 15 communities in the region. Learn more about the utility by visiting its the Water Works website.            


This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System