Bookmark and Share

The City of Milwaukee's Fireworks Task Force was created by Common Council File Number 060529, which was adopted on September 26, 2006 (Appendix A).

This resolution directed the 12-member Task Force to study issues related to the prevalence of fireworks in the City of Milwaukee, and to submit its findings and recommendations to the Common Council.



Explore Milwaukee's Fireworks Task Force

Hey Kids!

Friend Sparky on Facebook

You'll find fireworks events listed throughout Milwaukee.
Remember, stay safe and leave it to the professionals.


Digital Billboard Campaign

Task Force Report

Click to open Fireworks Task Force Report.

Fireworks Brochure

Click to open The Dangers of Fireworks brochure.



News Conference

June 29, 2012 - Alderman Witkowski spoke about the task force and the dangers of fireworks at a news conference with the Milwaukee Fire Department and the Milwaukee Police Department outside of the Mitchell Park Domes.

The 12 members of the Fireworks Task Force were:

  • Ald. Joe Davis, Sr., co-chair
    (appointed by the Common Council President)
  • Ald. Terry Witkowski, co-chair
    (Common Council President)
  • Deborah A. Bent, citizen at large
    (Common Council President)
  • Carol Bruss, Fourth of July Commission
    (Fourth of July Commission)
  • Deputy Chief Donald G. Doro,
    Milwaukee Fire Department (Fire Chief)
  • Edward Ehrlich, City of Milwaukee Assistant
    City Attorney (City Attorney)
  • Melvia Ford, citizen at large
    (Common Council President)
  • Kristine Hinrichs, Municipal Court Chief Court
    Administrator (Chief Judge)
  • Joanne Jalowiec, President, Wilson Park Fourth
    of July Association (Mayor)
  • William Rahming, Sr., citizen at large
    (Common Council President)
  • Sandy Schmidt, citizen at large
    (Common Council President)
  • Captain Anthony Smith, Milwaukee Police Department
    (Police Chief)

For additional information about fireworks and events held in the City of Milwaukee parks, please visit the Fourth of July Commission.



Fireworks are illegal and dangerous! sign