Bookmark and Share

Milwaukee Youth Council Members


District 1: Billy Devine Handy
Billy is a senior at Rufus King High School and is involved in several extracurricular activities, including Chess Club, Forensics, Football, Black Student Union and Debate. He is a full Diploma international Baccalaureate candidate.

District 2: Erica L. Lofton
Erica is founder and CEO of Girls in Action, Inc., a charity that promotes self-esteem and leadership for girls, typically between the ages of 8-12. In 2009, Girls in Action, Inc. was formalized as a non-stock organization and is now a non-profit organization. Miss Lofton also conducts workshops, delivers keynotes and has appeared at speaking engagements that are aligned with the missions of her work with girls of all ages. Miss Lofton is also a talented singer/songwriter who uses her talents to support her charity both financially and socially. Miss Lofton was invited to the White House to receive the Champion of Change Award. She attends the University School of Milwaukee where she serves as Freshman Class Representative. She is also on the basketball and track team. Erica hopes to one day attend Stanford University and pursue a career in Psychology or Law.

District 3: Emoni C. Gambrell-Toliver

Emoni is a sophomore at Riverside University High School and was born and raised in Milwaukee. She is an AP and Honors student, and she hopes to make a difference for her generation and the city.

District 4: Adea Dunn
Adea is the representative for the 4th District. She is a sophomore attending Riverside University High School where she is also a varsity cheerleader. She’s played the viola for seven years with Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra and recently left to try to achieve at a higher level. Member Dunn's purpose in being a part of the Youth Council is to be the light to the youth of her generation.


District 5: Malaysha Truss

Malaysha attends Milwaukee School of Languages. She volunteers at MPS Adaptive Athletics, helping students with disabilities participate in regular educational athletics. During the summer of 2016, she assisted with clerical duties for the 1st and 3rd aldermanic districts. She also is a leader in Link Crew, a transition program that welcomes new high school students. In 2014, she was awarded the President’s Education Award and completed the pre-college enrichment program (PEP) at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh that summer.

District 6: Kalan R. Haywood, II — President of the Youth Council

A Milwaukee native and 11th grade student at Rufus King International Baccalaureate High School, Kalan is actively involved in his school as a student ambassador and member of the National Junior Honor Society. He is a dedicated member of the community with experience in community organizing and community empowerment. He hopes to strengthen his leadership skills while helping to maximize positive opportunities for young people while improving the community. He serves as a youth leader with Urban Underground.

At the tender age of 16, Kalan has shared his vision for a great Milwaukee in a number of media appearances including the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Our Issues Milwaukee (CW18/My24), Wisconsin Public Radio, and many other speaking engagements.

District 7: Vacant

District 8: Genaviv Alcantara
Genaviv is a sophomore at Dominican High School. As a member of the Youth Council, she hopes to both contribute to enhancing the value of Milwaukee and gain new ideas from her peers. She deeply cares about educating every youth and helping them achieve their future goals. 

District 9: Ken' Triana McDade

Active with the forensics team, excelling at the city and state levels of competition. She is a sophomore at Rufus King High School. 

District 10: Vacant


District 11: Miguel Brown
Miguel has a genuine interest in government affairs and political office. During the summer of 2016, he served as an intern in Alderman Jim Bohl’s office, where his duties included attending meetings, computer research, data entry, proofreading letters and other clerical tasks. He also assisted with testing an online application for small business owners that was under development by the city’s License Division. 

District 12: Corina Estremera-Maldonado
Corina is a student at St. Anthony High School. She is experienced in public speaking and is very passionate about neighborhood and community issues, such as gang violence, racial profiling, homelessness, underage drinking and gun control. She received the Fruit of the Spirits Award by Victory Christian Academy for her positive spirit.


District 13: Jesilyna Gloria Gonzales

Jesilyna attends Carmen Schools of Science & Technology where she serves as a Student Ambassador, member of the Gay-Straight Alliance Committee, and is a Project Pioneer Carroll University Pre-College Student. She recently received a citation from 9th District Assembly State Representative Josh Zepnick. In addition, she serves as a Catechist assistant volunteer, member St. John Paul II. In 2016 she served as Student Council President at her previous school, and was awarded the outstanding language arts student of the year honor from Clement Avenue High School, where she was also on the high honor roll. She is also involved in the Milwaukee Ballet School and Academy.   

District 14: Isaac C.F. Hoeschen

Isaac is a sophomore at Pius XI Catholic High School. He has volunteered for the Bayview Neighborhood Association, St. Vincent DePaul Society, Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, and several other organizations. Isaac’s extracurricular activities include forensics, cross country, music, and theater.

District 15: Cole Hines
Cole is a junior at Pius XI Catholic High School. His extracurricular activities include the Junior Service Organization, theater, forensics, and his service as a student ambassador. He is active in REVERB, the young adult ministry at his church. Cole is also a Thespian, he appeared in the West Side Story and in the Wizard of Oz.



Milwaukee Youth Council

News Releases

Meeting Dates

The Youth Council meets the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month, from at 4:30-6:30 p.m. in the Common Council Chamber, 3rd Floor, City Hall, 200 E. Wells St.


Youth Council agendas and meeting dates can be found on the Legislative Research Center Calendar.

Youth Council Media

MYC Brochure 
MYC Flyer

Activity guides for print and download

Know the Score
Find it for Free
Make it a Date  

Youth Council in the News

Youth Council members address violence