
FOOD MANAGER CERTIFICATION / 

RECERTIFICATION 
 

er Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 254.71 and the adoption of 

the Wisconsin Food Code applicable to all Food 

Establishments, each licensed food establishment 

operation must have at least one manager or operator certified in 

food protection practices. 

 

The operator or manager of an establishment that is new or 

undergoing a change-of-operator shall have a certified food 

manager within 6-months after the business opens.  Within the 

first 90-days they must be registered to take and pass an 

approved exam.  This requirement is applicable with the 

effective date of the Wisconsin Food Code 12-201.11. 

 

What does Certification mean? 
 

Certification requires that the food establishment permit holder 

or manager pass one of  three Department of Health Services 

(DHS) approved exams which tests basic knowledge of food 

protection practices.  Safeguarding patron health is a primary 

concern of food operations.  Food manager certification is 

Wisconsin’s food safety agencies’ first level of assurance that 

operations have a basic understanding of food safety laws and 

principles. 

 

Does certification apply to all food 

establishments? 
 

No. Certification is required for most DHS food establishments 

but not all.  Simple food establishments that serve only single 

service, individual, already pre-wrapped foods from a licensed 

food distributor or serve/sell only non-potentially hazardous 

foods are exempt from the certification requirement. Operators 

of Temporary Restaurants are exempt from this requirement.  

Only DATCP establishments that engage in restaurant activities 

are required to have a certified food manager. Call your 

licensing authority.   

 

Can an operator with more than one food 

establishment have the same individual as their 

certified manager at all locations? 
 

No.  Each food establishment must have its own and unique 

certified manager.    

 

The Operator’s Responsibilities 
The operator is required to promptly notify the regulatory 

authority when the designated certified manager terminates 

employment with their food establishment and supply the 

regulatory authority with the name and state certification 

number of the new certified manager.  The current certified 

manager’s certificate must be conspicuously posted on the 

premises. 

The regulatory authority could be an agent local public health 

department, your DHS Environmental Health Specialist or your 

DATCP Food Safety Inspector.  Contact our office for specific 

departments or individuals. 

 

 

 

How do I obtain certification? 
 

Certification involves: a) taking and passing a DHS approved 

exam and b) applying for state certification. 

 

After the exam is taken and passed, the individual must apply 

for DHS certification by submitting all of the following: 

 

 Proof of passing one of the exams by providing a copy of 

an official written statement of certificate from the testing 

organization-indicating passage of an examination 

approved for initial certification. 

 A check or money order made out to the Department of 

Health Services in the amount of $10.00. 

 A completed State of Wisconsin Food Manager 

Certification application form. 

 

The operator or designated manager must take one of three 

state-approved examinations.  These exams are listed with this 

brochure.  A variety of private and public organizations have 

been authorized by the testing organizations to administer the 

approved examinations and teach food manager certification 

courses.  These organizations are listed with this brochure.  The 

Division of Public Health only approves the exams and has no 

control over training courses for initial certification. 

 

Must I take a class in order to pass the 

exam? 
 

No.  The Division of Public Health only requires the passing of 

an approved examination.  An individual’s background and 

knowledge may vary.  The type and amount of study and course 

work are dependent on the individual.  However, most 

examination organizations offer the examination as part of a 

course on food protection practices. 

 

What is covered on the exam? 
 

The certification exam tests basic knowledge of safe food 

handling practices and includes but is not limited to: 

 Food source and storage 

 Employee Health 

 Personal Hygiene 

 Temperature control of potentially hazardous foods 

P 



 Effective hand washing 

 HACCP Principles and Practices 

 Prevention of food borne illness 

 Equipment cleaning, maintenance, and storage practices 

 Toxic product use/storage 

 Manager responsibilities and duties, etc. 

 

How much will it cost? 
 

Cost of the exam varies with the examination organization that 

administers it.  Cost depends on whether the exam accompanies 

a text, classroom instruction, or other training aids.  For 

information regarding course/exam cost and schedules, contact 

one of the organizations listed with this brochure.  No matter 

who pays for the training, exam or certification, the certificate 

belongs to the individual person who is certified.  The cost of 

state certification is currently $10.00. 

 

I took and passed this exam a long time ago, can I 

still apply for Wisconsin certification? 
 

Yes, but no more than three years is the time limit for past 

examination. 

 

Expiration Date  

 

If the Wisconsin certification is applied for within 12 months of 

passing the approved examination, the certificate expires five 

years from the date of the department’s issuance.   

 

If the Wisconsin certification is applied for more than 12 

months of passing the approved examination, the certificate 

expires five years from the examination date. 

 

If an individual is applying for reciprocity from another state’s 

certification requirement, the Wisconsin certification will expire 

five years from the date of issuance of the other state’s 

certificate. 

 

What examinations are DHS approved for initial 

certification? 
 

The following examinations are approved for manager 

certification: 

 ServSafe (SS) Examination, by the Educational Foundation 

of the National Restaurant Association. 

 The National Registry of Food Safety Professionals, Food 

Safety Manager Certification Examination  

 Thomson Prometric (formerly Experior Assessments) 

 360Training, Food Protection Manager Certification 

Program 

 

Information regarding the above examinations can be obtained 

from the organizations listed with this brochure. 

 

Details of the Food Manager Certification Program are available 

in Chapter 12 of the Wisconsin Food Code.  Consult our web 

site at: http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/hfs/hfs196_app.pdf 

 

 

Recertification 

 

All food manager certifications expire five years from the date 

of issuance with the exceptions mentioned.  A state approved 

recertification-training course is required to renew food 

manager certification.  Only a course, not an exam, is 

minimally required for recertification.  Although repeating a 

written examination will suffice for the recertifcation 

requirement.  The intent of recertification is to provide 

continuing education for the food manager.  

 

How do I become recertified? 
 

In order to renew a Food Manager Certificate, a certified food 

manager must meet all of the following requirements for 

recertification: 

 Complete a state approved recertification course; 

 Submit a copy of a letter or dated certificate from the 

organization that administered the state approved 

recertification/certification course regarding attendance and 

completion; 

 Or, take and pass another Wisconsin approved examination, 

the same as initial certification; 

 Complete a recertification application; and  

 Submit a check or money order for $10.00 with the 

application. 

 

GRACE PERIOD: All certified food managers have 6 months 

from the date of expiration to renew their certifications by 

attending an approved recertification course.  If a food manager 

has not renewed their certification within the 6-month grace 

period, their certification can only be renewed by taking and 

passing a DHS approved examination required for initial 

certification. 

 

Persons requesting recertification may do so up to one year 

before the expiration date of their food manager certificate.  

There will be no penalty for early recertification.  Renewal 

certificates issued within the 12-months of a certificate’s 

expiration date will be effective from five years from the 

expiration date of the original certificate.  

 

Where can I get information regarding certification 

courses and examinations? 
 

You may obtain information about certification courses and 

exams on the attached sheet.  For further information regarding, 

certification applications, to submit certification materials or for 

a completed listing of organizations providing certification 

exams or recertification courses, contact: 

 

The Division of Public Health 

Food Safety and Recreational Licensing 

P. O. Box 2659 

Madison WI 53701-2659 

608-266-2835 

Fax: 608-267-3241 
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