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Who needs a PPV Driver License?

A license is required of every person driving a public
passenger vehicle, as defined under s. 100-3-21, MCO,
including any person driving a vehicle used for the
transportation of elderly or handicapped persons, regardless
of whether the vehicle is licensed or otherwise regulated by
the state of Wisconsin as a human service vehicle for the
transportation of elderly or handicapped persons.

Definitions

“Public Passenger Vehicle” means a vehicle which is used
for the transportation of passengers for hire, including
handicapped-elderly livery, horse and surrey livery, luxury
limousine, pedicab, motorcycle used for tours, shuttle
vehicle, %nd meter or zone fare taxicab.

Exemptions

a. A vehicle operated on fixed routes pursuant to
authority granted by the county, state or federal
government.

b. A vehicle which is rented to be driven by the renter or
an agent.

¢. A vehicle operated solely as a funeral car.

d. Avehicle used in a carpool operated by private
individuals.

e. A commercial motor vehicle as defined under s.

340.01(8), Wis. Statutes:

e The vehicle is a single vehicle with a gross vehicle
weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds or the
vehicle's registered weight or actual gross weight is
more than 26,000 pounds.

o The vehicle is a combination vehicle with a gross
combination weight rating, registered weight or
actual gross weight of 26,001 or more pounds
inclusive of a towed unit with a gross vehicle
weight rating, registered weight or actual gross
weight of more than 10,000 pounds. 340.01(8){c)

e The vehicle is designed to transport or is actually
transporting the driver and 15 or more passengers.
If the vehicle is equipped with bench type seats
intended to seat more than one person, the
passenger carrying capacity shall be determined
under s. 340.01 {(31) or, if the vehicle is a school
bus, by dividing the total seating space measured in
inches by 13.

s The vehicle is transporting hazardous materials
requiring placarding or any quantity of a material
listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73.

f. The Wisconsin Department of Health and Family
Services (DHFS), Division of Children and Family
Services, Bureau of Regulation and Licensing is
responsible for the licensing and regulation of child care
programs, which includes the regulation of center-
provided and center-contracted transportation.
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Eligibility

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and hold a valid
State of Wisconsin Motor Vehicle Driver's License, excluding
an Occupational License.

License Period ‘

License expires 2 years from date of issuance.
License must be issued within 1 year of approval, or a
waiver from the Licenses Committee is needed.

License Fee
$75

Forms Needed

Individual Application {ccl-iapp)
e Public Passenger Driver License Supplemental
Application {ccl-drn1)

Photograph
One clear and correctly exposed colored photograph is

required to be submitted at the same time the application is
filed]

The photograph must
be 2 x 2 inches in
size. The face size,
measured from the
bottom of the chin to
the top of the head
{including hair),
should not be less
than 1 inch or more
than 1 3/8 inches.

[1] Polaroid photographs and photographs of low quality,
not printed on photo-quality paper, or not meeting the size
requirements are not accepted.

Improperly Filed Applications

Incomplete applications and applications submitted without
the $75 fee and/or an acceptable photograph are not
properly filed and will be returned.

Qualifications by Vehicle Class

There are 5 classes of public passenger vehicles. See the
table on the supplemental application for a summary of
vehicle classes and qualifications. Depending upon the
class{es) of vehicles which you wish to hold a license to
operate, the following testing/training is required:



PPV Driver Test (Required: Class “T")

New taxicab license applicants must successfully pass a PPV
Driver Test administered by the City Clerk License Division.
The $10 test fee must be paid prior to taking the test.

The computerized test must be taken at the License Division
office. One person may take the test at any one time. The
test will be taken on a first-come first-serve basis.
Appointments will not be taken. It will be administered
between 8:15 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. You will have 60 minutes
to complete the test. The test may be taken once per day
per person.

Defensive Driving Course
(Required: All Classes Expect “P”)

Drivers of motorized vehicles must successfully complete a
Defensive Driving Course administered by the Milwaukee
Area Technical College (MATC); however, certain employers
are authorized to administer the driving course in-house to
prospective employees. Payment of the course fee is be
made to MATC. Contact the MATC Traffic Safety Office,
Monday thru Friday 7:30am-3:45pm, (414) 297-6235, to
register for course DRIVED 417.

Passenger Assistance Techniques
Training (Required: Class “H” only)

Drivers of Handicap-Elderly Liveries are required to
complete a Passenger Assistance Techniques Training
program administered by one of the authorized trainers
listed. Certificates of completion from these trainers only
representing their respective company or companies as
listed below will be accepted. (Anyone who would like to
be added to this list must contact the Health Department at
(414) 286-3521 for instructions.)

Changing Classifications

The fee to change classifications during the license period is
$25. There is no fee to change license classifications at the
time of renewal.

Before a license with the updated license classification code
can be issued, documentation must first be filed proving
that the qualifications to operate the new vehicle class have
been met.
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Course Exemptions
The course and map test requirements are waived if:

« Applicant has successfully completed all required
courses (including passing the map test, if
applicable) within 3 years prior to the date of
application for the classification being applied for
or

e At any time within the 2 year period prior to the
date of application the applicant held the same
class public passenger vehicle driver license issued
by the City of Milwaukee. (If a different
classification is being applied for, additional
courses may be needed.)

Issuance of License

Licenses may be issued upon completion of all application
requirements and course requirements. If the Milwaukee
Police Department objects to the issuance of the license
based on its findings then the applicant will be scheduled
for a hearing before the Public Works Committee. The
Committee will make a recommendation to the Common
Council on whether or not to grant the license.

City of Milwaukee Ordilnance

Regulations
. MCO 100-54
e Available online at
http://www.milwaukee.gov/ordinances

Passenger Assistance Techniques Trainers

Trainer Company Contact No. Expires
Angel Acevedo Bell Therapy (414) 445-9180 6/30/2016
Blaine Hampton Transit Express (414) 651-5598 | 5/16/2015
George Melville ?:‘a"’n”:;d:rtamn (414) 409-7766 | 5/11/2014
L";’r‘:"a Parker- | (no affiliation) (414) 294-8617 | 5/16/2015
Jim Morgan DCs (414) 469-2226 5/16/2015
Ken Woodall UW - Milwaukee (414) 227-3332 5/12/2015
Larry Currie UW - Milwaukee (414) 788-0929 | 5/12/2015
Linn Nelson Transit Express (414) 708-7569 5/16/2015
Citywide
Mazen Rezk Transportation {414) 409-7766 | 5/11/2014
and UW - Milwaukee
Michael Gray Community Care (414) 406-8812 6/30/2016
Shane Stoffel Transtar (414) 550-3033 5/11/2014
Steve Tipton Able Access (414) 536-5800 | 5/11/2014
Connie Patrick Transit First (414) 215-1000 10/1/2014
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. SUPPLEMENTAL APPLICATION
&Qﬁg ()'l. " Office of the City Clerk License Division
Mi T\\"'lll]\'(‘(‘ 200 E. Wells St. Room 105, Milwaukee, Wi 53202
. (

Print Name:

Vehicle Classification

If adding a classification, check (V) the box below
and provide documentation with your application

Y = Required; N = Not Required.

[ class “H” Handicap-Elderly Liveries

q:] Class “L" Limousines or Shuttle Vehicles

[ class “m” Motorcycles used for Tours

[ class “p” Pedicabs or Horse & Surrey Liveries
[ class “1” Taxicabs, Zone or Meter Fare

Pass PPV “Map”
Test

Y

(414) 286-2238 e-mail address: license@milwaukee.gov www.milwaukee.gov/license

Have you previously held a PPV Driver License in the City of Milwaukee?

D No |:|Yes

Has your Wisconsin State Driver’s License been suspended or revoked in the last 5 years?

[:] No E]Yes

For which company will you be driving (if known)?

Name of Company:

Address (include city, state, zip):

Phone Number:

SUBMIT THIS FORM ALONG WITH THE “INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION”

Office Use Only: Initials:_ Filed

DRN#

(o |
omplete Hold Class “M"”
Complete Passenger
2 i Endorsement
Defensive Assistance e
S 5 on WI Driver’s
Driving Course Techniques X
; License
Training
Y Y N
Y N N
Y N Y
N N N
¥ N N
_______ Granted__ Issued .




