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Definition of Secondhand 
Items previously owned by a member of the general public 
immediately prior to the transaction at hand.  (It does not 
mean previously owned by a wholesaler, retailer or another 
secondhand dealer.) 
 

Secondhand Dealer License Required 
Any business that purchases, sells or exchanges secondhand 
articles of personal property (including bicycles) at a fixed 
location.     

• Licenses expire 1 year from date of issuance.   
• License fee is $150. 
• Fingerprinting is required. 

Exemption:   
Secondhand dealers renting space at a licensed Secondhand 
Dealer Mall do not need to obtain individual Secondhand 
Dealer licenses. 
 

Secondhand Dealer-Bicycles Only License 
Any business that purchases, sells or exchanges secondhand 
bicycles only.  Bicycle means any vehicle propelled by the 
feet acting upon pedals and having wheels any 2 of which 
are not less than 14 inches in diameter.   

• Licenses expire 2 years from date of issuance. 
• License fee is $75. 
• Fingerprinting is not required. 

 

Secondhand Dealer Mall License Required 
The owner of a business that rents space to 2 or more  
secondhand dealers that each maintain separate sales space  
and identify themselves to the public as individual dealers. 

• License expires 2 years from date of issuance.   
• License fee is $225. 
• Fingerprinting is required. 

 
 
License Not Required 
This license is not required for those parties dealing in 
motor vehicles, coins, stamps, gold and silver bullion, 
secondhand jewelry, videos, cassettes, compact discs, 
baseball cards, secondhand books and magazines, works of 
fine art and secondhand industrial machinery and 
equipment; a business as a licensed precious metal and gem 
dealer, pawnbroker, or secondhand motor vehicle dealer, or 
any individual registered as an auctioneer under Ch. 480 
Wis. Stats.;  transactions at occasional garage or yard sales, 
estate sales, coin, gem, stamp or antique shows, 
conventions or auctions; or to any charitable organization or 
to any person conducting a sale the proceeds of which are 
donated to a charitable organization. 

Forms Needed 
• Business License Application (ccl-busapp) 
• Business License Plan of Operation (ccl-busplan) 
• Secondhand Dealer & Secondhand  Dealer Mall 

License Supplemental Plan of Operation  
(ccl-shdplan) 

 

Requirements 
Business License Information 
In addition to the requirements listed on the Business 
License Information sheet, the following requirements must 
be met: 
 
Provide Proof of Residency  
At least 24 hours after filing your application, call the 
Milwaukee Police Department License Investigation Unit at 
(414) 935-7430 for instructions on complying with the 
residency requirement.  Processing of your application will 
be delayed if this is not done in a timely manner. 
 
The individual, both partners, or agent of a corporation or 
limited liability company must be a resident of the state of 
Wisconsin for at least 90 days before the date of 
application.   
 
Set Up A NEWPRS Account 
Call Officer Thiele at (414) 935-7339 to set up a NEWPRS 
account.  NEWPRS (Northeastern Wisconsin Property 
Reporting System) is a computer database you must use to 
manage and store purchase information.   
 
The license will not be issued until we are advised by Officer 
Thiele that you have set up a NEWPRS account.  
 

Additional Information 
Record Keeping 
If you have any questions relating to records that must be 
kept or the proper means of identification, please contact 
the Milwaukee Police Department, Gold and Silver Detail, 
(414) 935-7280. 
 
Regulations 

• Milwaukee Code of Ordinances 92 
• Available online at www.milwaukee.gov/ordinances  
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 (414) 286-2238    e-mail: license@milwaukee.gov      
 

                                        

Legal Entity Name:   

Premises Address:   

What type of license are you applying for?  (check one) 
  Secondhand Dealer         Secondhand Dealer-Bicycles Only          Secondhand Dealer Mall 

INDIVIDUAL, ALL PARTNERS, OR AGENT OF CORP/LLC 

Place of birth:   WI        Other:________________ 

Have you been living in Wisconsin for at least 90 days prior to filing this application?   
 

 No    If no, you are not eligible to apply for this license at this time.  Per MCO 92-2-5-c, the individual, both partners, or 
 agent of a corporation or limited liability company must be a resident of the state of Wisconsin for at least 90 days 
 before the date of application.   
 

Yes If yes, list all address(es) where you lived within the last year:      

  Current Address Only   

  Other: ________________________________________________________________________ 

MERCHANDISE & SALES 

List all items you will be selling: 
 
 

Will a scale be used for items being sold by weight (price per pound, ounce, gram, etc.)?     No   Yes  
Will a barcode scanner be used to determine the price of items?     No   Yes 
 If yes to either question, a Weights & Measures License is also required.   
 An application can be obtained from www.milwaukee.gov/license or by contacting our office.   

MANAGER OF BUSINESS 

 Same as individual, partner, or agent of corporation/limited liability company 

 Other: Name: ___________________________________________ Date of Birth: ________________ 

     Address (include, city, state, zip code): ______________________________________________________________ 

LIST ANY OTHER LICENSES YOU HOLD AT THIS ADDRESS AND THE STATUS 

 Occupancy Permit 
 Active  Suspended 
 Other:________________ 

 Wisconsin State Seller’s Permit 
 Active  Suspended 
 Other:________________ 

 Other(s):_____________________ 
 Active  Suspended 
 Other:________________ 

SECURITY 

What are your plans to provide security for business records? 
 

 Kept in safe     Kept in locked cabinet     Other:______________________ 

What are your plans to ensure that business is not conducted with minors? 
 

  Check ID  Other: ___________________________________ 

SECONDHAND  DEALER L ICENSE   c c l - s h d p l a  6 / 2 9 / 1 6  

SUPPLEMENTAL PLAN OF  OPERATION  
Office of the City Clerk License Division 

  200 E. Wells St. Room 105, Milwaukee, WI 53202 
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ANNUAL SALES 

What is your estimated sales volume for the calendar year in US Dollars?        $_____________ 

AFFIRMATION OF UNDERSTANDING – REGULATIONS 
Read and initial each item confirming your understanding: 

 
1. __________  I understand no purchase or exchange of any property may be made without obtaining the seller’s 
 identification information, as stipulated in 92-11 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances (MCO).  
 
2. _________  I understand no item may be received with an altered or obliterated serial number.  
 
3. _________  I understand description records of any item purchased or exchanged must be maintained as stipulated  
 in 92-12 of the MCO. 
 
4. _________  I understand that each transaction description record must be reported as stipulated in 92-13 of the MCO, 
 including color photographs and color video recordings as required in 92-12-3 MCO.  
 
5. _________  I understand that every item purchased or exchanged must be available for inspection by the police 
 department at any reasonable time.  
 
6. _________  I understand that every item exchanged or purchased or accepted on consignment must be kept on the 
 dealer’s premises separate and apart from any other property, unchanged and unaltered, for 10 days for 
 inspection by the police department;  additional holding periods may be requested by the department.  
 
7. ________  I understand that the police may extend the 10 day holding period if there is reason to believe that the item
  purchased or exchanged was not sold or exchanged by the rightful owner.   
 
8. ________  I understand that no transactions may be conducted with a minor less than 18 years of age unless the minor  
 is with a parent or guardian, or the dealer has a written consent on file signed in the dealer’s presence by 
 the parent or guardian.  
 
9. _________ I understand secondhand dealer must report to the police department any item presented in the course of 
 business if there is reason to believe the item was stolen.  
  

REQUIRED SIGNATURE(S) 

I understand that a NEWPRS account (a database to manage and store purchase information) must be obtained prior to 
operating and utilized for all business transactions. 
 
 
______________________________________________  ___________________________________________ 
Sole Proprietor, Partner, 20% or more Shareholder,    Additional partner(s) or 20% or more shareholder(s) 
or the Agent - only if there are no 20% or more shareholders 
 

 
 

SUBMIT THIS FORM ALONG WITH THE  
BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION & BUSINESS LICENSE PLAN OF OPERATION 
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