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Who needs a Cigarette License?  
A license is required to sell, exchange, barter, dispose of, or 
give away any cigarettes or tobacco products.  
 
DEFINITION OF CIGARETTES 
Any roll of tobacco in paper or any substance other than 
tobacco. Tobacco products: cigars; cheroots; stogies; 
perique; granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready-rubbed and 
other smoking tobacco; snuff; snuff flour; cavendish; plug 
and twist tobacco; fine-cut and other chewing tobaccos; 
shorts; refuse scraps; clipping; cuttings and sweepings of 
tobacco and other kinds and forms of tobacco prepared in 
such a manner as to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a 
pipe or otherwise, or both for chewing or smoking. 
 

License Period  
Annual; expires one year from the date of issuance.  
 
 

Fee 
$100 
 

Forms Needed 
• Business License Application (ccl-busapp) 
• Business Plan of Operation (ccl-busplan) 
• Supplemental Application for Cigarette and Tobacco 

Products License (ccl-cigapp) 
• Detailed Floor Plan (see sample plan and list of required 

items)  
 

Copy of Seller’s Permit Required 
A copy of your current Wisconsin Seller’s Permit must be 
submitted with the application.  The Seller’s Permit must be 
issued in the same name as the legal entity applying for the 
license.  Applications submitted without the Seller’s Permit 
are incomplete and will be returned.  Providing only the 
Seller’s Permit number does not meet this requirement.   
 

Fingerprints 
Not required 
 

Federal Employer ID Number 
A Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) must also 
be provided.  This is obtained from the Internal Revenue 
Service, U.S. Department of Treasury, 1-800-829-4933, 
www.irs.gov/businesses/.   Your Social Security Number 
cannot be used as your FEIN.   
 
Individual applicants or Limited Liability Company applicants 
with only one member are not required to provide an FEIN. 
 
 
 

Underage Sign Required 
The owner or operator of a premises licensed to sell 
cigarettes or tobacco products shall post a sign in the 
immediate area where those products are sold, stating that 
the sale of any cigarettes or tobacco products to a person 
under the age of 18 is unlawful under s.106-23-3-a, MCO 
and ss.134.66 and 254.92, Wis. Stats. 
 

Record Keeping 
Every licensed retailer shall keep complete and accurate 
records of all purchases and receipts of cigarettes and 
tobacco products.  The records shall be preserved on the 
licensed premises for 2 years in a manner to ensure 
permanency and accessibility for inspection and shall be 
subject to inspection at all reasonable hours by authorized 
state and local law enforcement officials. 
 

Ban on Flavored Cigarettes  
It is illegal to sell fruit-, candy-, or clove-flavored cigarettes 
according to the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.  
 
Vending Machines Are Illegal 
It is illegal to sell cigarettes through vending machines 
according to the Federal Drug Administration. 
 

Tobacco Products Distributor Permit 
A state-issued Tobacco Products Distributor Permit is 
required if you are purchasing non-Wisconsin taxed tobacco 
products from outside Wisconsin.   
 
The CTP-129: Application For Cigarette And Tobacco 
Products Permits/Registration form can be found at 
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/forms/excise/ctp-129.pdf    
 

Secondhand Dealer License 
If you purchase, sell or exchange any secondhand articles of 
personal property (including used cell phones), you will also 
need to apply for a Secondhand Dealer License.  
“Secondhand” means previously owned by a member of the 
general public immediately prior to your transaction.  This 
application is also acquired from the License Division.  
 

City of Milwaukee Ordinance 
Regulations 

• MCO 84-43 and 106-30 
• Available online at  

www.milwaukee.gov/ordinances 
 

C IGARETTE  & TOBACCO LICENSE  INF ORMATION  
O f f i c e  o f  t h e  C i t y  C l e r k  L i c e n s e  D i v i s i o n  
2 0 0  E .  W e l l s  S t .  R o o m  1 0 5 ,  M i l w a u k e e ,  W I  5 3 2 0 2  
(414) 286-2238 e-mail address: license@milwaukee.gov   www.milwaukee.gov/license 
 

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/forms/excise/ctp-129.pdf
http://www.milwaukee.gov/ordinances
mailto:LICENSE@MILWAUKEE.GOV


Supplemental Application for Cigarette and Tobacco Products License ccl-cigapp 10/31/13 

Applicant’s Wisconsin 15-digit Sales Tax Account Number                                        

          This must be issued in the same legal name of the licensee below. 

Legal Name (corporation, llc, partnership or sole proprietor) 
 

Federal Employer Identification No. (FEIN) 
 
 

Trade or Business Name 
 

Business Telephone Number 
«BusinessPhoneNumber» 

Premises Address 
 

Business Located in  
City of Milwaukee; Milwaukee County 
 

Mailing Address  
 
1. Type of Legal Entity (check one) 

 Sole Proprietor  Partnership Corporation/LLC, enter date incorporated: _________________________________ 
 Out of State Corporation/LLC – Are you registered to do business in Wisconsin?  Yes  No 

 
2. List in the space provided below the exact location in the building where cigarettes and tobacco products will be sold.   

Note:  It is illegal to sell cigarettes through vending machines according to a Federal Drug Administration rule which went into 
effect June 22, 2010. ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

3. Do you understand that it is illegal to sell fruit-, candy-, or clove-flavored cigarettes?          Yes     No 

4. Identify the type of business offering cigarettes and tobacco products for sale.  Check (√) one, and describe (if “Other”):  
  Retail Food Store       Filling Station/Convenience Store       Other: __________________________       

5. Does the applicant understand that they must purchase cigarettes only from manufacturers, distributors or jobbers who hold a permit 
with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue?           Yes     No 

6. Does the applicant understand that they must obtain a Tobacco Products Distributor permit if purchasing untaxed tobacco products 
from an out-of-state company? (Tobacco Products Distributor permit is available from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at 608-
261-6435.)              Yes     No 

7. Does the applicant understand that they cannot purchase/exchange cigarettes or tobacco products from another retailer, including 
transferring existing stock to a new owner?          Yes     No 

8. Does the applicant understand that they must provide employees with tobacco sales training approved by the Wisconsin Department of 
Health and Family Services? (SmokeCheck.org)          Yes     No 

9. Does the applicant understand that they may not sell, give or otherwise provide cigarettes/tobacco products to minors?  
               Yes     No 

10. Does the applicant understand that they may not sell single cigarettes?       Yes     No 
11. Does the applicant understand that cigarette and tobacco products invoices must be kept on the licensed premises for two years from 

the date of the invoice and be available for inspection by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue/law enforcement and that failure to 
comply can result in criminal penalties, including loss of cigarettes/tobacco products?      Yes     No 

12. Does the applicant understand that only cigarettes and roll-your-own (RYO) tobacco products listed on the Wisconsin Department of 
Justice’s website labeled “Directory of Certified Tobacco Manufacturers and Brands” at www.doj.state.wi.us/dls/tobacco/index.html 
may be sold in Wisconsin?            Yes     No 

13. Do you purchase, sell or exchange articles of personal property (including used cell phones)?     Yes     No 
 If yes, you must also apply for a Secondhand Dealer License. 

 
READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING: Under penalty provided by law, the applicant states that each of the above questions has been truthfully 
answered to the best of the knowledge of the applicant. Applicant agrees to operate this business according to law and that the rights and 
responsibilities conferred by the license(s), if granted, cannot be assigned to another. Any lack of access to any portion of a licensed premises during 
inspection will be deemed a refusal to permit inspection. Such refusal is a misdemeanor and grounds for revocation of this license. 

Signature of Sole Proprietor/Partner/Agent or 20% or More Owner: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date: __________________________ Print Name: _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SUBMIT THIS FORM ALONG WITH THE “BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION” 
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Cigarette and Tobacco Detailed Floor Plan Requirements 

 
Please read all instructions before preparing the floor plan. 
● A detailed floor plan must be submitted with this application. 
● Any application submitted without the detailed floor plan (including all required items listed below) will be  returned. 
● Even if the premise has been previously licensed and a floor plan submitted, a new floor plan must be submitted 
 with this application. 
● The floor plan must be filed on 8 ½ x 11 inch size paper. 
● Handwritten plans are acceptable. 
● Plans do not need to be architectural drawings and need not be to scale. 

 

 
ALL FLOOR PLAN MUST INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING: 
 

1.  Dimensions of the premises (length x width) and 
 Total square feet of the premises  

2.  Label all entrances and exits 
3.  Show building/licensed premises in relation to surrounding streets and 

 Provide street names 
4.  Label all parking areas on the premises (do not include street parking)  This is required even if the parking is 

 shared, for example, a strip mall and 
 Provide the dimensions (length x width) of all parking areas on the premises.  The parking area(s) should be 

 marked on the  floor plan for the first floor showing the relation to the building. 
5.  Label all loading zone areas 
6.  Mark the North point (N↑) on each page 
7.  Write the legal entity name (and agent’s name if a corporation or LLC) on each page 
8.  Write the trade (business) name on each page 
9.  Write the premise address on each page 
10.  Write the date on each page 
11.  Location of shelving and cashier 
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Jane A. Doe, Agent for “ABC, LLC” 
“ABC Store”  
123 S. Any Street 
Date: June 1, 2015 

Total 
Square 
Footage = 
7200 
 

60’ 
Shelving 

 

140’ 

Cigarette and Tobacco Floor Plan Sample:   
Please see the Cigarette and Tobacco Detailed Floor Plan Requirements  

for a list of all items that must be included.   
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